The PetSafe SmartDoor Electronic Pet Door Large is the overall pick for a medium or large dog that needs a collar-key flap with a 28 x 40.6 cm opening. The SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Connect with Hub is the smarter alternative for small dogs, because it reads an implant and locks from a phone. Measure shoulder width before you cut any door.
Read More
These automatic dog door options were chosen from the makers’ published specifications and live UK retail listings, checked October 2026. None of the flaps have been trialled in our homes. Opening sizes, power needs and pet limits come from those listings and from the brand manuals cited in the sources.
How Wide Should an Electronic Dog Door Be?
Measure the widest point of the shoulders and the tallest point of the withers while the dog stands square. The flap opening must exceed both figures with a little spare so the coat does not snag. SureFlap states a 178 x 170 mm opening on its pet door, which it describes as suitable for large cats and small dogs. Cat Mate lists a 145 x 145 mm opening on the 360 flap, so that electronic pet door only suits the slimmest terriers and similar. The PetSafe SmartDoor Electronic Pet Door Large lists a 28 x 40.6 cm flap and a 41 x 60 cm frame for dogs up to 45 kg. If the shoulders are wider than the opening, do not force the dog through; choose a larger panel or a sliding-door opener instead.
An electronic dog door that is too tall can also become a child-height hole. PetSafe warns that small children can pass through the large SmartDoor. Site the cut-out so a toddler cannot crawl after the dog, and keep a second lock on the human door.
How Does Selective Entry Work on a Smart Pet Door?
A smart pet door either reads a microchip, a collar tag, a phone app, a paw bell or a motor kit. Microchip flaps such as the SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Brown and the SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Connect store up to 32 IDs and stay locked against neighbourhood cats and foxes. DualScan adds a second reader so you can block one pet from leaving while another still goes out. Collar-key doors such as both PetSafe SmartDoor sizes unlock only when the programmed SmartKey is in range, then lock again. The PetSafe SmartDoor Connected Pet Door Large adds Wi-Fi so you can set schedules and lock the flap from the My PetSafe app. The tidytech aluminium panel lifts when the dog presses a bell; it does not identify one animal, so any visitor that learns the bell can enter. The Olide Automatic Pet Door Opener motors an existing sliding door and can take a separate pet sensor; the listing does not include that sensor in the box.
Selective entry does not replace a secure garden. Dogs Trust tells owners to check fences and gates before a dog is left outside, and to stay with a dog that might bolt. A flap only solves the house door. If you keep hens as well, a chicken pop-hole is a different product with a dusk timer; see automatic chicken doors.
Where Can You Fit an Automatic Dog Door?
Most of these units cut into a timber, uPVC or composite door. SureFlap and Cat Mate also offer wall and glass kits sold separately. PetSafe lists the large SmartDoor for paneled, wood, metal or PVC doors 32 to 51 mm thick, and a wall kit for brick up to 203 mm. Measure the leaf thickness and the stile width before you order. Metal-skinned doors can shield a microchip reader; SureFlap publishes extra notes for metal panels. Battery flaps need a dry place for the pack: four C cells on the SureFlap pet doors, four AA on DualScan and Cat Mate, four D cells on the large connected SmartDoor. Plan a spare set so a flat battery does not leave the flap unlocked or jammed shut.
After the dog can come and go, keep a bowl of water indoors and a shady spot outside. The RSPCA dog environment guide asks for a safe, hazard-free home and regular toilet chances. A flap is not a substitute for walks, and it is not a reason to leave a dog alone all day. If you also need a den for rest after a trip outdoors, look at dog crates rather than parking the dog in a hallway.
How Do These Automatic Dog Doors Compare?
| Door | Trigger | Opening | Power | Stated pets | Extra control |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PetSafe SmartDoor Electronic Pet Door Large | Collar SmartKey | 28 x 40.6 cm | Battery | Up to 45 kg, up to 5 keys | Automatic, locked, unlocked |
| SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Connect with Hub | Microchip or RFID tag | 178 x 170 mm | 4 C cells | Cats and small dogs, 32 IDs | App lock, curfew, hub included |
| SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Brown | Microchip or RFID tag | 178 x 170 mm | 4 C cells | Large cats and small dogs, 32 IDs | Curfew timer |
| SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Connect | Microchip or RFID tag | 178 x 170 mm | 4 C cells | Cats and small dogs, 32 IDs | App control, hub sold separately |
| PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor Small | Collar SmartKey | Not stated in metric on the listing | 4 D cells | Cats and small dogs | Automatic lock after the key passes |
| SureFlap DualScan Microchip Cat Flap | Microchip or RFID tag | 142 x 120 mm | 4 AA cells | Cats and extra-small dogs, 32 IDs | Per-pet exit permissions |
| tidytech Automatic Aluminium Dog Door | Paw bell lift | Not stated | Rechargeable panel, 3 to 6 months | Dogs that can press the bell | In, out, locked, open, anti-pinch |
| Cat Mate Microchip Activated Cat Flap 360 | Microchip or ID disc | 145 x 145 mm | Not stated | Cats and small dogs, up to 30 pets | Four-way rotary lock |
| PetSafe SmartDoor Connected Pet Door Large | Collar key, app | Not stated on the UK title | 4 D cells or adaptor | Dogs and cats, not microchip on Large | Schedules and remote lock |
| Olide Automatic Pet Door Opener | Motor kit for a sliding door | Uses the existing sliding leaf | Mains 100 to 240 V | Leaf up to 80 kg, 5 m | Remote and wireless buttons; sensor sold separately |
How Should You Teach a Dog to Use a New Flap?
Hold the flap or panel open at first so the dog can walk through on a lead without pushing plastic. Reward the first steps on the garden side, then the return. Only then let the door close behind the dog. For a microchip or collar-key model, programme the ID before the first session so the lock is already unlocked as the dog approaches. For a bell-lift panel, show the dog the button with a treat on it. Dogs Trust garden advice still applies once the dog is outside: stay with them at first, check the fence, and provide shade and water.
- Tape the flap open or prop the sliding panel so the hole is a simple doorway.
- Lure the dog through with food, then call them back the same way.
- Lower the flap a little each session until the dog pushes or the motor lifts it.
- Programme the chip or key and confirm the lock opens before you leave the room.
- Watch the first unsupervised trips from a window so you can shut a secondary door if a fox waits on the step.
- Set a curfew or app lock overnight if roads, livestock or fireworks are a risk.
Frequently Asked Questions
Will a Microchip Flap Work If the Dog Is Not Chipped?
SureFlap and Cat Mate both sell RFID collar tags or ID discs for pets without an implant. Programme the tag the same way you would programme a chip, and check the fit so the disc cannot slip off in a hedge.
Can Two Dogs Share One Electronic Pet Door?
Yes, if both IDs are stored and both animals fit the opening. DualScan is the model that can keep one dog indoors while the other still uses the garden.
Does an App Door Need House Wi-Fi?
The PetSafe Connected Large unit needs 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi for schedules and remote lock. The SureFlap Connect works as a normal microchip flap if the hub is offline, then adds notifications once the hub is paired.
Is a Motorised Sliding Door Safer Than a Flap?
A sliding-door opener avoids a hole in a good fire door, but it moves a full leaf. Fit the safety sensors the maker specifies and keep children’s fingers away from the closing edge.
Should You Use a Flap While the Dog Is Home Alone?
Only if the garden is secure, the weather is mild and the dog already uses the flap without panic. A flap is not a plan for a full working day without a walk, a toilet break you control, or a person who can come home.
Last reviewed: 5 October 2026.
Automatic Dog Doors to Compare
PetSafe SmartDoor Electronic Pet Door Large
A collar-key flap for dogs up to 45 kg, with a 28 x 40.6 cm opening, three lock modes and room for five programmed SmartKeys.
SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Connect with Hub
A white microchip pet door for small dogs that includes the hub, so you can lock it from the app and set a curfew without buying extras.
SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Brown
A brown microchip pet door for small dogs, with a curfew timer and one-button programming, for homes that want selective entry without an app.
SureFlap Microchip Pet Door Connect
The same white Connect flap without a hub in the box, so you can add app control later if you already own a Sure Petcare hub.
PetSafe Electronic SmartDoor Small
A compact collar-key door for cats and small dogs, unlocking as the SmartKey comes near and locking again once the animal has passed.
Closer Pets Microchip Activated Cat Flap 360 Grey
The grey Closer Pets version of the 360 microchip flap, for the same small-dog opening as the white Cat Mate unit when you want a darker frame.
tidytech Automatic Aluminium Dog Door
A motorised aluminium panel that lifts when the dog presses a bell, with four access modes and an anti-pinch reverse if something is in the way.
Cat Mate Microchip Activated Cat Flap 360
A white microchip flap listed for cats and small dogs, with a 145 mm square opening, a four-way lock and space for up to 30 programmed pets.
PetSafe SmartDoor Connected Pet Door Large
An app-controlled large SmartDoor that uses a collar key, remote lock and schedules, for homes that want phone alerts rather than a simple timer.
Olide Automatic Pet Door Opener
A white motor kit that slides an existing patio door, with a remote and wireless buttons in the box and a pet sensor listed as a separate extra.